The Eurovision Song Contest is going stateside as NBC secures the American Song Contest.

Based on the world’s largest music event, the American Song Contest will feature live original musical performances, representing all 50 states, five US territories and the Nation’s capital. In the best Eurovision tradition, they will be competing to win the country’s vote for the Best Original Song.

The live competition consists of three rounds as the acts compete in a series of Qualifying Rounds, followed by the Semi Finals and the ultimate Grand Final where one state or territory will emerge victorious. 

Anders Lenhoff and Peter Settman, alongside Christer Björkman and Ola Melzig, Producers who have worked on over 20 Eurovision Song Contests between them, acquired the American format rights for Eurovision Song Contest from the EBU and partnered with Propagate to bring Eurovision to the USA.  

Article link: