Kevin McCarthy falls short of speaker of the House win on first ballot

WASHINGTON — House Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy failed to attain the required votes to become the chamber’s speaker on the first ballot Tuesday, necessitating a second vote for the first time in 100 years.

McCarthy, who could only lose four Republican members and still attain the required 218 votes, watched in the House chamber as at least 13 GOPers supported for other candidates.

Seven of those voted for right-wing Rep. Andy Biggs (R-Ariz.) — Biggs himself, Dan Bishop of North Carolina, Andrew Clyde of Georgia, Eli Crane of Arizona, Matt Gaetz of Florida, Bob Good of Virginia and Paul Gosar of Arizona.

Three other members — Lauren Boebert of Colorado, Mike Cloud of Texas, and Anna Paulina Luna of Florida — voted for Rep. Jim Jordan (R-Ohio).

Rep.-elect Josh Breechen of Oklahoma supported Jim Banks of Indiana and Andy Harris of Maryland backed New York Republican gubernatorial candidate Lee Zeldin.


Approved ~ MJM

%d bloggers like this: